PDA

View Full Version : Some Help If You Are Worried About Swollen Glands

Canbud
21-11-14, 13:51
I'm struck by the number of posts about worries over swollen lymph nodes so I thought I might try to put your collective minds at ease.

I'm a two-time survivor of Hodgkins Lymphoma. I'm not a doctor of course, but the information I'm going to provide is based on my experience and the knowledge gained from two occurrences and 15 years of cancer checkups.

First of all, the lymphatic system is designed to collected all the crud from our system (infection, virus, etc) and get rid of it. Many times, this results in swollen nodes, which can occur anywhere along the lymph system. It is very common to have swollen glands under and along the jaw line, especially with a cold or virus, for example. Mono can also produce multiple swellings along the neck. Another common place for your glands to swell in is the groin area. This seems to happen alot to guys for some reason (what ARE you guys doing down there, anyway? :D ).

Other swellings may seem like they're our lymph nodes, but they're actually benign fat deposits called papillomas. I like to call them fat blobs. :) Sometimes people confuse them with lymph nodes.

All of this is to stay that, in the event you find a swollen node, don't panic. Have your doc check it out, and know that in all probability its just a little node doing its job.

Fishmanpa
21-11-14, 16:00
Good post! I'm a survivor of stage IV head and neck cancer so I know all about the nodes.

Nodes are one of the top 5 posting subjects and the poor things are probably the most abused due to the amount of poking and prodding they receive :D

Positive thoughts

Canbud
21-11-14, 16:41
thanks fishman--those poor nodes do get quite a workout on NMP. I hope people read this and that it can assuage their fears somewhat.

Linatjong1981
21-11-14, 17:40