PDA

View Full Version : Hello - Suffer From Fear of ALS.

PanicBlows
03-12-14, 00:57
Hi, everyone!

Obviously I am new to this site. I hope I am doing this correctly and that this hasn't been posted 1,000,000 times... I found the layout a bit confusing.

I am a 27-years-old female with three small kids (5, 3, and 14 months).

Anyway, I am actually new to panic and anxiety. It only started a few months ago. But since it has started, it has almost been non-stop.

My 3-year-old almost died a while back and I believe that is when the panic started. He is okay, thankfully. But I think it has caused some psychological issues with me.

First, it started with feeling like I couldn't breathe and that I was having a heart attack. I saw my GP who told me that my heart looks great and that he can tell me with 100% certainty that I am not having a heart attack and told me it sounds exactly like anxiety/panic. After he told me that, I felt better and was able to get over it for a bit.

Then one day I noticed that my right arm felt like it was losing strength. I never knew about ALS until the Ice Bucket Challenge and, while I really feel for those with this debilitating disease, there is a part of me that wishes I had never heard of it or read about it. OH MY GOODNESS... I did the dummest thing ever and decided to GOOGLE the feeling in my arm and what should result but ALS.... I immediately lost my dang mind. I was convinced that I was going to wake up and not be able to use my arm - that I was in the beginning stages of ALS.