PDA

View Full Version : Long Time Lurker - My Story

FormerSelf
03-12-14, 21:30
Hi,

This is probably going to be a long post so thanks in advance to those who stick with it and read it to the end. This is my story of what part of me believes to be Health Anxiety and what the other part believes to be something much worse :-(

In May 2013 I was sat at my desk at work (I'm a Software Engineer) when out of nowhere I suddenly had a huge head rush, went horrendously dizzy for literally a few seconds and then thought I was going to collapse. I stumbled to the toilets, was sick, couldn't breathe and genuinely thought this was the end for me.
I left work, went home and went to bed.

The next day I work I felt unsteady on my feet, not too bad but noticeable. I had a similar (though not quite as bad) incident, went home again and my local GP. They spoke to me about stress, anxiety etc (to which I replied I had never been a stressed person and had no anxiety). I was told it was probably some sort of virus but I was clearly stressed/run down and so I was signed off work for 2 weeks. I was also given Stemetil for the dizziness.

Over the next 2 weeks I had recurring bouts of this sudden flash of dizziness, again it was never as severe as the initial onslaught. It literally lasted seconds but left me feeling awful and off balance afterwards. During this period I had 2 ECG's done, 1 at my local GP and 1 at my local A&E (Hospital). They were both fine. I also had 2 rounds of blood tests - the 2nd round was to recheck and elevated level of something (can't remember what) which usually indicates an infection/virus of some type. The 2nd lot of tests showed it back in normal range.

I returned to work and continued to suffer with mild off balance feelings, though never those horrible flashes of Dizziness. However, a feeling of uneasiness never really left me, nor did the off balance feelings.