PDA

View Full Version : Flu-like symptoms - propranolol or coincidence?

NE21 worrier
18-12-14, 18:10
I'm new to propranolol having just been prescribed it yesterday. I have been prescribed 40mg, advising me to take it three times a day.

However, this has not started well as, having taken one last night and one this morning, I now have flu-like symptoms: a runny nose, a sore throat, hot flushes and chills, spaced out feeling. I feel really, really ill - did no work whatsoever this afternoon and have now taken to my bed :sad:

From experience, do people think this is a side-effect of the propranolol OR have I got the manflu and my unfortunate present condition is a coincidence?

Kendra
18-12-14, 18:32
Hi,

I think it sounds like man-flu.

I have woken up exactly the same today it's going around at the moment.

I don't think that type of med would cause that!!

Hope you feeling better soon

Xxxx

NE21 worrier
18-12-14, 18:36
Thank you. In bed with a cup of tea and some Lemsip Max. Flu-like symptoms are terrible for people with anxiety as they make you feel useless and I need no encouragement to beat myself up.

I've actually remained pretty calm about the whole thing so far, despite having plans for the weekend. It will pass, hopefully sooner rather than later. Just really frustrating.

Catherine S
18-12-14, 20:27
It doesn't sound like the propranolol is the culprit to be honest as nobody has ever reported symptoms like that connected to it. I've been on propranolol since 2007 and take 40mgs daily down from 80mgs a few years ago and have never experienced flu-like symptoms. I've had some side effects occasionally as they do slow your system down so can make you feel lethargic but never aching bones, sore throat etc. It's just unfortunate that you've come down with a cold at the same time as starting the propranolol. I hope you feel better soon.

ISB x

NE21 worrier
18-12-14, 20:40
Thanks for the reassurance ISB.