PDA

View Full Version : Hiya all

Gaynoroc
13-01-15, 08:22
Hi there everyone, I have recently been diagnosed with GAD at the ripe old age of 51!!!, dont know what brought it on but my GP reckons it could be a virus that I had before xmas. Most days I am able to carry on working, etc, even though I have such a foggy head!! What I am struggling most with is the bloating and stomach pains. I have such stupid irrational thoughts that I have some sort of cancer and am going to die!!! Oh, and I sooo wish I could have a good nights sleep, I wake after a couple of hours and sometimes I go back to sleep and sometimes I lie awake for hours. My biggest fear .... driving!! I have been a confident driver since I was 17 but suddenly I am petrified of driving (cant get to work unless I drive!!!). Anybody else suffered like this? Any suggestions would be great, I am slowly going crazy!!

venusbluejeans
13-01-15, 08:27
Hiya Gaynoroc and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

Toynova63
13-01-15, 15:35
Hello & Welcome!
I too was recently diagnosed with anxiety at 45. Crazy to tink I've gone through so much and just now it shows up. When it started I had tingly & lightheaded days & nights. Now I'm going through upper abdominal pain/tension that Drs are passing off as reflux. Again, something I've never had my entire life. I'm a worrier & always go to the extreme. I also thought cancer!! I've had several blood tests, ultrasound, CT scan & a couple ER visits...can't find a thing wrong. i try hard to go with their expertise & treat it as reflux but even the medications are giving me relief.
I hope you get some answers & will be sending positive thoughts your way!!

Mary

jimsmrs