PDA

View Full Version : Newbie.

clare1974
19-01-15, 08:03
Hi all. Firstly, I would like to say thanks for being there - I found the site during the wee small hours when I was sat up, unable to sleep again due to persistent intrusive ideas, heart palpitations and general dithers, and usual inability to sleep. I've never joined a forum before, or really admitted I have problems, so this is a huge step.
I'm 40, and although I've always been a worrier, I've managed to keep it under control, and most who know me wouldn't recognise me as an anxious person at all. Over the last 6-8 months though I've become far worse, to the point where I'm barely functioning at times. I have persistent catastrophic ideas, paranoia, insomnia, and feel really disconnected from everybody - even with friends I feel like I'm on the outside looking in. What makes it worse is that I'm a qualified mental health nurse, so I know exactly what I 'should' do, but nothing is working. I haven't been to my doc, as I know the resources locally don't provide adequate talking therapies, and I'm reluctant to take meds just yet. Hoping I can learn from others here how to manage my anxiety and low mood, and not feel quite so overwhelmed and alone - and also help some of you in return, if possible.

venusbluejeans
19-01-15, 08:09
Hiya clare1974 and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

jimsmrs
19-01-15, 14:04
Hi and welcome

congratulations for taking the first step to admitting you're having problems.