PDA

View Full Version : Feeling like a failure - off sick again

lele19
20-01-15, 12:47
Hi guys,

I'm looking for a little bit of positivity as I'm feeling a bit down today. Up until May this year I'd only ever worked around 25 hours a week. After 3 years of working at a job I was very settled in, I was made redundant along with half of the business. I found another job which was full time and started straight away, I was then offered a better job, also full time - and that's where I've been working for the last 6 months. During this time I've had around 10 sick days, and been signed off for a week by the Dr due to stress/exhaustion/anxiety. My boss hates it and is very unsupportive, the company is completely inflexible despite getting a letter from my dr saying this is essentially a disability as it has affected me so much for 12 years.

I called in sick this morning as I woke up with a migraine, vertigo, hot sweats and just feeling horrid. I feel like such a failure - it's only been 3.5 weeks since my last sick day. I work 35 hour weeks, 9 - 5 everyday.

I'm looking for another part time job, but they are so scarce and I'm worried I'll end up living off my savings, not being able to earn an income. I feel frustrated, upset, I feel like I've failed yet again.

Any words of comfort would be great.

:(

davidos-UK
20-01-15, 13:22
Me too, I can completely relate.

I took a new job in October, I have found it and my 90 minute commute very stressful and last week I had enough so handed in my one month notice.

Last week I was signed off due to stress. It is a busy time coming up so not ideal. Also I now have huge guilt that I have handed in my one month notice and am not even working that because I am signed off sick!

I feel like I am being judged as a trouble maker, I sit around my flat dwelling on not going to work and what a failure I am, people in this world handle much more stress than me but I have just caved in. I can't even eat today.