PDA

View Full Version : Going back to school?

.Poppy.
23-01-15, 00:56
So, I actually graduated last May with a degree I must have a master's in to practice, but I didn't get into graduate school. I took a semester off, and have now re-entered college with the idea of getting some kind of business degree. I have about a semester of prerequisite classes and then about a year of specialized classes before I can graduate again, which is great.

After my time off, I was really eager to get back into school. Most of my friends are still in school and I wasn't really doing anything so it felt nice to go back.

Now, though, my first week in I'm kind of a mess. I feel so out of whack, like I am totally new to all of this. I feel like I don't belong, I guess. And I'm constantly stressing over which path to take, which will be best, what I can find work in without hating my job, etc. I feel like, by not getting into graduate school, I've totally messed up and this is my last chance to make it right.

Do you think these feelings will ever pass? I want to get excited about what I'm doing, but I'm scared I'm either going to pick something I hate or I'll choose something that interests me and not be able to find work and be right back to where I started.

I also fear walking through campus, because I don't want to run into any of my old classmates that all got into grad school. I'm afraid they'll ask me what I'm doing, and since they're successful and I'm not, I won't know what to say or I'll just come away looking ridiculous.

Sunflower2
23-01-15, 07:28
Hey Poppy,