PDA

View Full Version : Terrifed

maddiemyhoney
31-01-15, 00:26
Hi all, I'm new to No More Panic but I've been on forums before for this. This might be a long post but I wondered if other people get the same as me.

So I've had emetophobia since I was around 12 years old. I think it all was triggered by my dad being so loud and complaining when he V*ed. I also have been put off eating beef due to the last time I V* I was 12 and had eaten so much beef casserole. I put up with endless panic attacks and regular doctor visits not knowing what was causing my violent shaking, constant nausea for years until I was 19 and researched panic attacks. I knew I had some sort of panic disorder. I realised all my panic attacks were around the thought of V*. I then found emetophobia and realised instantly that was it! Every doctor I went to said I was being stupid and to just V* and I'll get over it. I wouldn't travel on trains, go to cinemas, go on holiday, go out for dinner, stay away from home or eat anywhere but home where I felt comfortable. I was like a hermit crab, not coming out of my shell or doing normal things that people my age do. I've never drunk, I'd always insist on driving. I really didn't have a life. I was then referred to CBT by my GP. It was all online in the comfort of my own home. I told them all about my symptoms but it didn't hit the phobia, just the panic attacks and I knew that if I didn't have the phobia my panic attacks would disappear completely. I finished the 12 sessions but still didn't feel comfortable. I needed something else.