PDA

View Full Version : lab results. Someone help me through this!

Vida
03-02-15, 02:00
In my panic of bowel/anal cancer I drove myself into a full on panic mode while at work. It doesn't help that I am an ER nurse and all I heard all day was history of cancer, history of rectal cancer etc. I checked my heart rate and blood pressure and I was through the roof. I got an EKG done and showed it to the dr who told me to clock out and he was going to work me up since my heart rate was over 130. My labs came back ok except my amylase which is a pancreas enzyme. I only know basics about it. He said it might be my braces that are since that enzyme is released with salivary glands also. Well I googled and all signs of elevated amylase is lung cancer, ovarian cancer (silent) and all sorts of other stuff.
I am so frightened. I keep thinking about my kids and how will they grow up without a mother or have to see me battle cancer and ultimately die? How I'll my husband suffer alone with two kids? How will my mother cope? Why didn't I buy life insurance? How will I pay medical bills?

popejoan
03-02-15, 02:12
Hi Vida,

Maybe I can help you with this. First of all, please don't google. It will never ever help you, it will only make you more and more worried. One of the reasons why my health anxiety is out of control is compulsive googling. Although I have occasional relapses, I pretty much stopped googling.

Why do you think you have bowel cancer? Do you have blood in your stool? Do you have low hemoglobin levels? Do you have diarrhea?

Why do you think you have anal cancer? It is extremely rare.

If we google, any abnormal blood results could indicate horrible diseases. I had low ferritin and googled, and then I convinced myself I have bowel cancer. I pretty much accepted my fate before having a colonoscopy, it came back all clear.

Vida
03-02-15, 02:47