PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol addiction help

Shapeshifting Lizard
15-02-15, 00:01
I've been drinking 60cl roughly vodka for like 6 months.
I do weird things like I just wander about the house randomly, and I'm a nuisance to my nan who's looking after me before I move. I start moaning and acting like a toddler cause I'm convinced I'm gonna have a fit. I used to see my dad having fits when I was looking after him.
I want to stop drinking but it's got out of control. I think random thoughts compulsively and they won't go away anymore. So I can't get to sleep. I'm desperate to sleep, but I can't do it.
There is a reason I'm drinking but I want to go into a proper detox where the nurses won't question me. I think I'm volatile and I'm going to have a tantrum or attack someone.

hanshan
15-02-15, 12:40
Hi Lizard,

Is that 60 cl (600 ml) per day?

You know you you can't go on like that long-term.

Apart from your present problems, it will sometime start to attack parts of your body - maybe your liver, maybe your nerves, maybe your muscles, maybe all of these and more.

Talk to someone about getting treatment. Don't worry about what they might know - they've heard it all before.

Good luck.

PaulieC
15-02-15, 13:46
I was where you are a month ago and it's awful, especially when you're not getting enough sleep. I was really fortunate in that the Doctor allowed me a home detox under the supervision of my wife and I was given a valium taper. It would be well worth discussing this option if you have someone who can monitor your health during a detox. It's an awful place to be in, and it takes a while to get well again, but it does get better. Hang in there!

Shapeshifting Lizard
15-02-15, 21:31