PDA

View Full Version : Muscle Twitching - again

evak2979
16-02-15, 22:15
Hello everyone.

Entering a period of intense stress (PhD thesis writing, constant job applications/interviews, intense working out), I one day had my right bicep muscle twitch all day.

I went to bed, and at the same night I had a night horror - I woke up, feeling like I was suffocating. I somehow managed to go back to sleep. Ever since, I've had generalised muscle twitching on and off around my body - calves, thighs mostly, but also stomach, shoulders, shouldeblades, etc.

My right shoulder feels stiff, as do other muscles on my body at times (I am a computer scientist, and I spend 10-12 hours/day in a seat).
I made the mistake to google, and neuro diseases came up. Here is the fun part. I haven't had any strength loss (i am still working out 5 days/week, and all my strength is there).

I just feel more tired. I feel exhausted often. I had full blood tests, nothing came up. Some days I am much better, some days the twitching is worse.
My GP put me back on Citalopram/Celexa, entering third week now. And I must admit, things are marginally better.
Still, why do I write all this? Reassurance of course...Us supporting one another is what keeps me going at times.
I am not dying, am I? :S

hanshan
17-02-15, 12:52
Probably no more than the rest of us. Most of your symptoms seem likely to be caused by anxiety, not something more sinister.

MrAndy
17-02-15, 13:32
anxiety causes muscle twitches its nothing more than that

Anonybrit
18-02-15, 13:53
If you don't have any weakness or wasting then this is almost certainly benign fasciculation syndrome.

I have it too and like you it started in the bicep and can now occur anywhere, usually when stressed. If I stop and think about it during a time in my life when I am not stressed, I realise it has gone, but I am currently immensely stressed and so I have it a lot.