PDA

View Full Version : Anyone had Positional vertigo?

Always-Worried
17-02-15, 14:59
I went to see my GP today and she says I have benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV). She did a manoeuvre (Dix-Hallpike test) to bring on the vertigo.

I asked if it could be caused by anything sinister and she said "not in your case"
"How do you know?" I asked
"Because you don't have the (sinister) symptoms" she replied.

Of course I was happy with that for five minutes, and am now thinking "what if she's wrong?"!!

I'm light-headed on and off so am thinking maybe the BPPV set me off and the anxiety is making things worse?

Amylee1982
17-02-15, 15:02
Hey

My friend as this too she was diagnosed at the hospital and was told its nothing sinister. Im not a doctor and everyonr is different but i suppose shes goin off your other symptoms.

What did she do to bring it on? Did it work? I reall hope it eases...im sure stress brings it on too.

Always-Worried
17-02-15, 15:07
She had me sit in the couch thingy, held my head at 45 degrees and laid me down really quick, this brought on the vertigo - and then when I sat back up I got it too.

Fishmanpa
17-02-15, 15:15
I replied to your other post. It's not sinister and your doctor is correct. And yes, anxiety will exasperate your symptoms.

Positive thoughts

Ange1
17-02-15, 23:54
I've had this several times over the last 10 years and at first it really made me very anxious. Gets into a vicious cycle of vertigo and anxiety making each other worse. Mine was caused by a neck problem ( not helped by blocked sinus) and hands on treatment sorted it out. flare ups are never as bad now as I know what the problem is so I don't get caught in that cycle again. It's not a pleasant thing so I know how you feel but the cause is nothing to worry about. Xx

working mom
16-07-15, 13:44