PDA

View Full Version : All day panic attack

Daisy112
18-02-15, 17:39
Hi, looking for some advice and support. I'm new to this panic attack thing. The last week I've had a terrible time. It started last Tuesday when I kept going into panic attacks. The phone would ring and I would go into one. Everything set me off. Fast heart beat, sharp chest pains, couldn't breath, light headed, upset stomach. I also, get an extreme burning sensation in my back and arms. I went to the doctor he prescrived prozac. I took 2.5 mg and had a horrible time. Spaced out couldn't stay awake. It last for 24 hours. So I didn't take another pill. That night I went into extreme anxiety. So the doctor called in Ativan. I took a .5mg pill which helped. He also prescribed Celexa. Ever since being on Celexa I've had horrible diarrhea and now the last two days I feel like my throat is closing right after I take it. It's difficult to swallow. I've been trying to drink water. Has anyone had an allergic reaction to an ssri or is this something else?

NoPoet
18-02-15, 17:52
An all-day panic attack is a blip. A blip, often called a setback, is where your symptoms temporarily worsen. In your case it's possible that the medication may be causing you side effects. Side effects from medication tend to last a few weeks at most before they either gradually start to die off, or you stop noticing them (often because you get used to them and lose your fear of them).

Side effects can start within a few minutes of taking the medication. However they cannot start immediately as your body has not had time to absorb any of it. If you feel like you can't swallow right after taking it, as in a few seconds, you are experiencing anxiety because you are either scared of what the medication might do to you, or you're scared of what it represents (eg you are scared of the anxiety - "fear of fear").