PDA

View Full Version : Joining a Football Team - Advice

RM160413
21-02-15, 12:09
Hello, this is my first post on the forum, thought I would come on this forum for a bit of advice.
I am thinking about joining a football team, but I am very nervous and apprehensive about doing it:unsure:, the reasons why are:-

1) I've never really played much before, when I had PE in school, I would just stand there and not do anything, plus the PE teachers in my school were kind of rubbish, they never really encouraged me in how to get better, they just favored the ones who were good at it.

2) I'm not very good at it, and I just have this vision if I do join a team, everyone there would have been playing for years and have a lot more experience and they would get annoyed if I make a mistake.

3) I was picked on a lot in school and I wasn't very popular with the "lads", so my reputation is a bit crap and most of them were on teams

4) I'm gay and I know that not many gay people play football so I'm a bit apprehensive about how my sexuality would go down there.

Any advice would be grateful

Dazza123
21-02-15, 12:58
Id say go for it, you have nothing to lose, but I do understand your slight concerns with the whole bloke thing in football.

Im sure there are a lot of football teams around with gay members, and also some exclusively gay teams, would you feel more comfortable in an all gay team? If so I wonder if a search online for your local area might give you some contacts, or you could always advertise and make up your own team, there must be resources online for this?

JMA
21-02-15, 18:43

I mean this is the best possible way, and am aware of where we are, but you need to throw all those points in the bin.

I play football ever Friday night down at the local Powerleague, and it is one of the best things ever. There really is no time to worry about stuff when your trying not to let some speedy 18 year old skin you and score a goal!