PDA

View Full Version : Mirtazapine - numb to music

Caldread
28-02-15, 12:15
Hi there this is my first post and been on mirtazapine for about 4 months slowly increasing my dose to 45mg along with therapy

took a while to kick in for my anxiety disorder but since i have been on 45mg it was worked great for my anxiety but i have noticed some side effects since ive been on the 45s, one i have seen is a quite common one and that is irritability/anger but its controllable and i can control it alot easier than my panic disorder so id rather that side effect than a straight up panic attack!

another side effect that has worried me a great deal is the inability to enjoy/lack of pleasure in music..... i get nothing from it anymore! its like i cant tune into it or get any pleasure what so ever from it, its worrying me because im actually a drummer, and i used to be listening to music none stop, now nothing, its almost like music stimulated some sort of adrenaline while i listened to it before and i took large amounts of pleasure out of listening to it then, maybe even more than others, so its almost like the mirtazapine is blocking that receptor out now, (for me anyway) its like my anxiety fueled some pleasure in some things, but could completely cripple me at any point! i have no idea though, i may be just more down than i was before

Has anyone else experienced this? i feel LESS numb to some things before(alot more clear headed) but seem to lack pleasure or have different tastes in things now (i like certain foods more than i did before but i also dont like certain foods i used to LOVE before) but the music one is really getting to me, i just get nothing from it anymore :(

thanks.

p.s apologies if im not making any sence, it makes sence in my brain but not sure how it comes across in words, open to any suggestions as my head is in a pickle anyway!

Aleks1
28-02-15, 16:12
Hi,