PDA

View Full Version : Blackmailed by boss?

NervousA1
01-03-15, 15:26
Hi all yesterday I was confronted by my store manager, I work in retail... They are planning on doing home deliveries from our store, basically I was told I have to get a drivers license and be a van driver having never driven before, or have my hours cut from 40hrs a week to just 18hrs.

I have worked there for 8 years, I suffer from social anxiety/depression/visual snow/tinnitus and pretty sure I have depersonalisation. Being around people is painfully awkward as it is. Working on a cash register wears me out fast. Hate it.

I can't see myself driving a van i'd be a liability.

Life sucks. :weep:

ray52
01-03-15, 16:35
As your working full time at the moment do you have an employment contract (you should do after 8 years). It should say what your duties are.

NervousA1
01-03-15, 16:43
Customer advisor, contract is 18.75hrs a week, but I've been doing full time for a long time now. Guess I don't have a leg to stand on :(

ray52
01-03-15, 16:50
Has your manager offer to pay for your lessons and test ?

NervousA1
01-03-15, 16:59
Nope :lac:

ray52
01-03-15, 17:22
Surely if they need you to have extra skills they should pay for them do you work for one the big stores if so you could go above them. but that would start a fight and not sure if you feel up to that

Brunette
03-03-15, 15:48
Not sure what your legal position is with regards to you working full time but only being contracted for 18.75 hours a week but they can't expect you take on a new skill that requires training without arranging to pay for that that themselves.

And if your current mental health situation means that you would not feel safe driving then your GP should surely be able to back you up on that?

MyNameIsTerry
05-03-15, 05:20