PDA

View Full Version : Recently started having panic attacks - looking for reasons?

austin01
15-03-15, 10:30
Hi,

This is the first time that I've used a forum like this, but was hoping to communicate with others who have/are experiencing the same problems that I am.
I am a 38-year old man who is normally quite healthy and who doesn't have a history of anxiety or depression. I am a mature student who is just about to finish my final year of doing a law degree at university. I am quite excited at finishing my degree and getting into work in the legal profession, even though it will be another 3 years before I am fully qualified.
I am also part of a civil claim against my local council with 105 ex-pupils from the boarding school that I attended for physical abuse by the teachers and child care staff. Before the civil case can be dealt with, there is 2 criminal cases going on (1 against the ex-headmaster which is currently in court, and the other against 4 teachers/child care staff which starts in 4 weeks time). Even though these trials are bringing back bad memories, I feel positive about them as we will hopefully get some closure.

I had my 1st panic attack 5 weeks ago while driving alone, and this was followed by another 2 weeks later. I went and saw my GP who prescribed me diazapam and told me to take them when I have an attack. I didn't feel the need to take any but felt reassured that I had them with me just incase.
Last Wednesday I had a severe attack at home and took a tablet but it didn't help. I felt that I had no control over my body and was extremely aggitated and was having problems getting my breathing under control, and it got to the stage where my wife called an ambulance. The paramedics came round and were here for about an hour and helped to calm me down.
I have since been back to my GP who has prescribed me beta-blockers. I have been taking them but at times have still felt that a panic attack is building.