PDA

View Full Version : just wanted to catch up!

bluesparkle
18-01-07, 12:47
this may be a bit of a long read... i only hope it makes sense.
i am not very good at putting into words what i want to say.
firstly i have been a member of this site for ages now and it is just the best... everyone is great and there is no way i would be where i am now without you all.
last year i was at my lowest and i went to see the doctor ... i have done this in the past and never stuck with the help that was offered. within weeks i saw the mantal health team social worker... a psychiatrist(excuse spelling) and a cousellor. i just somehow knew the time was right to sort out issues in my life... on friday the psychiatrist said i no longer needed to see him but just to ask my doc if i need to, i had to ring the social worker to change an appopintment and she said she had spoken with mr stone and she was happy not to see me if i wished and as long as i still saw the counsellor and it was agreed that i could just phone her if i needed her at all. i was so chuffed. when i first saw them i thought that this was it i would need help for the rest of my life. i am going to come off my medication with the help of my doctor which i also thought i may have to take for life.
i have anxiety/panic and ocd and have had for many years but never fully understood what it was and just thought i was mad until i found this site.
it is great to have real feelings again... and also odd as i cannot always contol them ... crying, laughing etc but that will come as i have been locked shut for many years. i am 39 now and just thought this is the way life had to be for me but it isnt i was wrong.
obviuosly everything isnt right just over night and it is hard work but well worth it. i am not cured and still have moments where i lose the plot so to speak but i just remind myself how far ive come.