PDA

View Full Version : Counselor Forums or Counseling advice

sealover
23-03-15, 13:34
Hi does anyone know of any counselor forums in the uk or more local devon?

My partner who is a long time sufferer of panic attacts due to drug misuse has over the last 10 years turned her life around and got her HNC counselor qualifications. (Scottish HNC level 3 or 4 in England)

thing is shes just found out she now has to do 150-400 hours of supervised counselling and these cost £40 odd per 12 client hours and we cant afford it

she is trying to find some sort of funding or a volunteers job counselling but wanted the hours to be supervised and we have no idea where to start looking.

its a real shame as she's worked really hard to get this far and now to find that she cant get accredited until she has done so many supervised client hours.

in fact any help or advice would be cool :)

swgrl09
23-03-15, 18:49
I know how you feel!! It's a little different here probably, but I got my masters degree in therapy and graduated, however still need to complete 1000 work hours and 100 supervision hours to be licensed. Most employers want you already licensed. I got lucky and found work where my supervisor had the same degree and is providing my supervision as part of the job.

Is there an overarching agency that certifies her that could give her some information on local places? I reached out to several professors as well who had connections in the work force. There were Facebook networking groups for professionals as well that would post openings. Maybe she could look into that?

I wish I could be of more help, but it's hard when different countries do things differently. Just wanted to empathize. It's very frustrating when you work so hard for the training and still have to do more.. And expensive!!

sealover
23-03-15, 19:08
Thanks could check FB see what comes up nothing to lose :)