PDA

View Full Version : *Newbie here* Panicking about Cervical cancer!!

Lionheartedxo
27-03-15, 19:51
I've been panicking about plenty of different things over the past few weeks; blood clots, meningitis, appendicitis, heart attacks and mainly cervical cancer.

I know at least 6 women now whom have been diagnosed with it, and it's starting to make me panic more, I've tried to comfort myself by reading leaflets and stuff to see how it is developed etc, but it just made me feel worse! :weep:

It's only made me realize I have a very high chance of getting it (I have had a handful of sexual partners, most no protection, I am on the pill too) and now I am extremely panicky, elevated heart rate, breathing faster and I'm just bloody scared I'm going to die of it now as I am not old enough for a pap smear. :scared15:

KeeKee
27-03-15, 19:58
I recently got a smear test appointment due to my results for the one I got 18 months ago being nowhere to be found. I was terrified thinking they'd been mixed up and my letter was supposed to be for someone else. Anyway they found the results which were fine and the woman told me not to worry and all the scare stories you hear about young women having it are mainly due to them not attending regular smear tests. She also said cervical cancer actually takes a long time to develop and that's why it is very rare in younger women.

Lionheartedxo
27-03-15, 20:04
Oh thank you! That's eased my mind a little bit, I've had the HPV jab when I was younger but I am still slightly afraid. But thank you for your quick reply!! xx

anthrokid
27-03-15, 22:31