PDA

View Full Version : Not sure - need some guidance.

Turtle
31-03-15, 21:38
This is my first time posting here. My boyfriend found this site for me. I'll just get right to the point.

I've been suffering from anxiety for a few years now. I've never been on pills for it for very long (like 1 pill for about 3 months maybe?), that was about a year ago.

My anxiety was getting better for a while but then it took a turn for the worse a few months ago and hasn't been improving. I saw my family doctor because I was feeling sick and nauseous constantly from not eating or from trying to eat - because that usually triggers my anxiety (OMG I'm gonna die, this food is tainted, who touched it, etc etc etc). She prescribed me with Cipralex and I am currently on day 3.

I understand it takes a few weeks for it to really do it's thing. I felt really weird but way better on day 1 and day 2.

Today is day 3 and this morning at work I had a pretty intense panic attack while trying to eat my breakfast. It didn't subside easily and quickly like it did on day 1 & 2. I feel really groggy today from the medication as I did the past two days - but it's a bit worse.

I don't feel nauseous however (from the pill or from my anxiety). So I guess that's a good thing - at least that side effect isn't impeding me atm.

My question is, should I keep taking this pill? I'm freaked out about pills and I'm sure I'm just self sabotaging and looking for any excuse to stop taking it. I recognize that it did help and will only help more as time goes on and these side effects will dissipate, right? (Or wont they?)

I last saw my psychiatrist almost a year ago and I've emailed him and informed him of my situation and I'm waiting to hear back from him in hopes I can see him - I trust him with my anxiety disorder and medication much more than my family doctor.