PDA

View Full Version : Fellow twitchers please help

Lilly13
07-04-15, 15:51
Hi everyone,

I am a 23 year old female, I am a university student who suffers from severe anxiety. Health anxiety is new to me and extremely debilitating. It is safe to say that is ruining my life.

This forum has thus far provided me with solace. It is nice to see fellow twitchers.

Here are my scary symptoms:

Cramping in hands, feet, arms, legs, fingers
feeling weak in arms, legs, wrists, ankles- however I have no loss of functionality I can still write, turn keys, lift things, walk ect. BUT i feel easily exhausted.
TWITCHING- ENDLESSLY- EVERYWHERE

I have a neuro appointment in a month, but I am having such great fear.

Could this be anxiety? Does this sound like ALS?

Any help is appreciated!
xx

Best,

Lilly

popejoan
08-04-15, 01:30
Hi Lilly,

First of all I'd like to say that twitching is very common. I twitch a lot, especially on my hands, arms and chest.

ALS first presents itself with muscle atrophy and weakness. Weakness is not like I have trouble holding the hair dryer over my head kind of weakness, it is like I can't hold the hair dryer over my head kind of weakness. It means you fail to do something. If you don't fail to do anything you can normally do, you don't have ALS.

If you don't have muscle atrophy you are fine. I'm not talking about small dents in muscles or left arm being 1-2 cm smaller than right arm. The difference should be significant that others can see as well.

I have had huge ALS fears and I know how difficult it is to get over it because I haven't 100% over it myself but you are too young, ALS is too rare and just twitching almost always means nothing.

Hope I could help. Feel free to ask anything, I know more than I should about this disease and would like to help. Take care x

JohnW
08-04-15, 10:24