PDA

View Full Version : new!!!help!!!

mabel
05-09-04, 11:03
Hello I'm new and wish I had found this site earlier!!! I have been suffering from general anxiety and depression for 10 years. I'm OK most of the time but have blips. The last time I was off work for 3 months. I am a teacher and after forcing myself into work this week I am now facing OFSTED in October and it has put me right back. I can't afford to take any more time off work and don't want to tell the head as he got annoyed last time. I'm trying to carry on as I do love teaching children and know that being in the classroom is the best place for me, but its getting harder each day!!!

Mabel

sarah
05-09-04, 11:26
Hi Mabel

Welcome to the site, glad to have you on board!

Im sure you are feeling a bit jittery at the moment because you have just had a long summer holiday and its going to take a little while to get back into the old routine.

Do you take meds or have councelling or alternative therapy at all?

What age children do you teach?

take care
love Sarah
xx

mabel
05-09-04, 12:02
I'm on antidepressants. Tried various ones, on efexor at the moment. Have been through a nasty relationship breakup so its no suprise really. I had CBT last time I was ill and have had councilling but nothing seems to really work long term. I suppose its a question of remembering and practising what i've learnt, but its seems like such hard work!!! I'm determined not to give up completley this time (as I have done before!) but it feels a struggle to keep on going sometimes. I find peoples sympathy tends to run out after a few days so I'm just pretending I'm fine at the moment!!! It does seem to work though as I'm still carrying on even if I do feel crap!!! Although i think I'm developing a drink problem.

seh1980
05-09-04, 12:31
Hello there Mabel!!

I spoke to you in the chatroom yesterday and am glad to see that you have signed up to the message forum!! Welcome!! I'm sure you will get loads of support here - take care.