PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Lilly S
21-01-07, 22:33
Hi there

I have never done anything like this before, but here goes. I am 24 and have been having panic attacks since i was 20, it started in my 2nd year at university and came out of now where, still dont understand why i started having them which i still find hard. When it started i did not know what was happening and thought i was going mad, now i seem to have panic attacks in certain situations, trains are a real problem as well as planes and any situation where i feel trapped and cant remove myself from the situation. After a long period of avoidance and then trying to deal with my panic on my own i started cbt which has helped a lot and have started getting the train to work when i can, but does anyone else ever think to themselves life should not be this hard, feel like i am getting through each day rather than living it.

All my friends and family are very supportive but they dont have panic attacks and i often feel really alone and the worst thing about it all is you cant escape it because it is in you head, think about it all the time which only makes it worse. Due to the panic I also feel trapped in life generally and inadequate, which only knocks your confidence and makes me feel even less capable of being able to cope with my panic attacks.

Not sure if you are supposed to write this much but i dont really feel able to talk to anyone about this and its nice to be able to get these things of your chest. Does this sound familiar to anyone else?

honeybee3939
21-01-07, 22:40
Hi Lilly

A BIG warm welcome to you, lovely to see you here,im sure you will get some great advice and support while making new friends on the way.:D

Lovely to hear the CBT is helping, sounds like you are making progress already.

Love

Andrea
xxx

"If you have a worry turn it into a problem, you cant solve worrys but you can solve problems"

clickaway
21-01-07, 22:40
Welcome Lilly,