PDA

View Full Version : Sick time ending, doc urging return, anxiety all week

RisingPheonix
05-05-15, 00:42
Been off with anxiety and depression for a month & a half now. Have had anxiety since I was a teenager - but until last year I was able to cope. It became too much a few months ago and I attempted to quit my job, a decision my employer agreed to ignore on basis of my mental health.

Been at my job for 9 years, did it thru college and university. They haven't been terrible. But the job was always just something to help me get by in those times. I did a degree so I could do something other than retail, but that hasn't really panned out.

I also have dyspraxia that makes really moving within the company an issue, and I know I'm not really up to doing anything like a supervisor or manager role. Have tried in the past, but they don't seem to have much faith in me beyond what I already do (I have tried one other role, but am now forever judged by how badly that went, even though it wasn't what I expected it to be)

I have been trying to focus on coding, and trying to do things that make me happy - though it's hard as I seemed to "lose" my talents as my depression has gotten worse. Recovery is happening but it's fairly slow right now...

Doctor last week suggested I start thinking about going to work, the moment she said it, I started to worry about it. It's retriggered things like my eyelash picking, constant worry, feeling easily stressed by too much noise ect. I did have a meeting with work the week before where they said it looked like I wasn't ready yet.

Part of me knows the expected outcome is that I return to work, I'm not suicidal, I seem relatively okay to others, I'm not a shut in...so I guess I'm not as bad as some, but still don't want to go back.

I guess I'm just trying to look for the right answer.

Logan_Five
05-05-15, 07:36