PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else coughing up Phlegm?

Carnation
11-05-15, 18:22
Does anyone else get this and do they know why?

I have been coughing up WHITE phlegm for nearly 4 months now.
I can feel it building in my chest, I clear it with a cough and up comes this mucus white phlegm. (Sorry, I know that sounds disgusting). Sometimes it is several times a day and then I can go a week with nothing. :shrug:

I don't want to go to the Doctors, because they will want to suggest putting tubes down my throat and I feel ok, but wondered if it may be part of Anxiety?

Daniele_T
11-05-15, 20:37
I smoke and so coughing up brown cak you would think is normal..however, I have noticed on days when I'm particularly anxious or during periods of intense anxiety or panic - hospital appointments or such as a recent trip to a&e for an infected cyst removing...I cough up loads more thick phlegm...often tar stained.
Maybe I smoke more but usually only a very small amount more.

I also get very swollen glands in my neck.
All these things worried me but I have thought logically about it and I feel there are reasonable explanations.

During anxiety and panic attacks almost everyone gets a dry mouth and lump in the throat, upper chest breathing and adrenaline assists both of these...also the thick phlegm in the throat like you can't swallow.

I think all of these things do add to coughing up lots more thicker phlegm.

Additionally I would go see a doctor, I know how nerve wracking the thoughts you have are going and waiting, but I hope reading the above helps a little to curb thoughts of something sinister.
Get checked out and be certain that it's not a worry.

Best wishes
Daniele

Carnation
11-05-15, 23:18
Thanks for your reply.

I was thinking that it seems to be worse when I am more Panicky and Anxious, but I was interested to see if there were any other fellow suffers.

You can't help thinking, what if it's something else.

MyNameIsTerry
12-05-15, 05:02