PDA

View Full Version : New-struggling with HA and physical symptoms

ready_to_live
14-05-15, 14:22
Hello everyone
Just wanted to introduce myself as I have been lurking on here for the last few weeks. This site has been very helpful to me. I literally broke down in tears reading the symptoms post on the main page in the middle if an anxiety attack as I realised I had about 95% of the symptoms.

I am 33 year old mother of 3 children I have suffered from depression and anxiety since I was a teenager, age 18 I did a course of cbt which helped a lot with the intrusive thoughts/anxiety I had. Age 23 I went on citalopram for depression after my first daughter was born. I stopped this 4 years later when I became pregnant with my second.

I developed pre eclampsia at the end of my 3rd pregnancy, my blood pressure shot up dramatically after my baby was born and I was on anti hypertensives for 6 weeks. I become incredibly anxious and obsessed with my Bp (I'm a midwife and sometimes too much knowledge is a very bad thing!) I bought a home Bp monitor and would constantly check Bp. Once my Bp went back to normal my anxiety decreased for a few weeks/months.

However instarted to become plagued with physical problems first was severe headaches I have always suffered with them but they started to become chronic where I would have them everyday I became convinced I had a brain tumor I'm currently awaiting mri gp doesn't think its anything serious. Also 2 months ago developed pain and tightness in chest with palpations so I went to a&e they thought I had a pulmonary embolism as my hr was staying high. Eventually I was discharged after ecg blood tests and chest xray clear.