PDA

View Full Version : Fear of Schizophrenia/hearing voices

Matthewray
20-05-15, 04:32
Hello Everyone, this is my first time on the forum. I am glad to be in such a supportive place.With that said, let me get to it!

*warning* it's a bit lengthy but as a lot of you know, it's not easy to sum up our anxiety story in a few sentences.

Six months ago I began to have extreme anxiety episodes. It all started after smoking W**d after I had taken time off smoking to lower my tolerance level and I was in the middle of moving from my hometown to a new city and was very stressed out by the move. Eager to break my smoking fast, I began to light up and inhale. Long story short, I smoked too much and experienced an anxiety attack. The next day I went about my day as usual, except when I would smoke i'd start experiencing episodes anxiety/dread. This continued for a few days, I didn't stop smoking, until I had another really bad episode. The next morning I wake up but things don't feel right. I feel emotionally numb and my sense of time seems nonexistent (the concept of 5 minutes made no sense to me) almost like I was still high. Well I started to panic, thinking I must have messed up some chemicals in my brain and developed psychosis. I tried to pay no mind to it but the thought of it kept bothering me. Later that day, I was sitting at a restaurant with my family when I got the bright Idea to look up the symptoms for a psychotic episode. the first symptoms were

1.) difficulty concentrating
2.)depressed mood
3.) sleep changes—sleeping too much or not enough
4.)anxiety
5.) Derealization