PDA

View Full Version : Social anxiety = Did some stupid stuff - would really appreciate a hug right now

anxiousalot
31-05-15, 13:25
Hi everyone,

I've been battling with anxiety / depression for about 3 years now and generally things have been getting better; however every now and then (for example, right now) I have a freak out and it's all too much. I've not really done this before, but I thought reaching out might help. Hopefully :)

So, why am I freaking out this time? Well, as usual for me, it's to do with a girl and general social anxiety. Basically, there's a girl at work I really like, and I think she might like me too, but I'm way too nervous to do anything about it. The whole company went out for drinks on Friday night and a few people were egging me on to talk to her / ask her out. So I had a few drinks to calm my nerves, then a few more, then a lot more. You can probably guess where this is going :/

I talked to her a few times that night, and I think things went ok (although a big part of my anxiety is that I can't really remember!), but I do remember being very drunk at the end of the night and talking to her then. In a sleepy / dozey drunk state. I don't know what I said, but I think I was a bit weird. I have a strong feeling I did or said something stupid. In fact I kind of remember leaving the pub just after her, I guess so I could try and speak to her in private (without feeling like everyone was watching), but then ending up just walking about 100 ft behind her for like 5 minutes, unable to work up the nerve to say hi. Like some kind of freaky stalker. God I hope she didn't see me. I swear that's not what I'm like. I think I'm actually a pretty decent guy, just shy and really stupid.