PDA

View Full Version : New member

ryanmckay
28-01-07, 07:04
Hiya, This is my first time using this website. I first came across this webpage some days ago and foung it helpful. I have being on antidepressants for nearly three months. Up until I took them I used to suffer from severe anxiety. However I began to notice that after the anxiety subsided I would become seriously depressed hence the reason for going on the antidepressants. I have managed to snap out out of this before but I have found that the same pattern has occured again despite the fact that I am on medication. This disheartens me greatly. The strange things that after reading this website a few days ago my anxiety subsided and rational thoughts emerged. However the depression has set in.

I thought this latest relapse may of been due to a change in routine. I am currently on holiday which I had planned for months. The problem now is that I wish I was back home so at least I could get back to my old routine. I went out the previous night to drown my sorrows. Of course the next day i felt much worse as well as being sunburnt. I miss my girlfriend who is back at home. But I fear what will happen if i tell her the extent of my problems. She knows of my problem but she has never seen me relapsed.

Everything seems so blurred at the moment. I cant focus and feel trapped. I have tried counselling and hypnosis (both with limited success) but what really bungs me is that I thought with being on medication this could not happen again. Any tips?

I did stop taking my tablets for a week in around christmas as the prescription rang out. But I have been back on them since. Could this absense for one week possibly explain the relapse even though it occurred some weeks ago. I can honestly say this is the worst day of my life.

ryan

jo61
28-01-07, 09:49
Welcome to the boards Ryan. I think what you're experiencing is the normal up and down of depression. There's no catch-all cure and it does take time.

Love Jo x