PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new to all this and a bit apprehensive

BeckiG
29-01-07, 16:36
Hello Everyone,

I've been reading the posts on this site for some now and found them very helpful and reassuring, its good to know I'm not the only one and that other people have the same issues as me. I've finally plucked up the courage to add a posting.

I'm 32 and have been suffering from health anxiety for about 10 years now. I've had periods where I actually feel normal but the last year has been horrible I seem to have gone from one health panic to another. It started early last May when a relative passed away very suddenly and unexpectedly.

I know it sounds really selfish but as soon as it happened I immediately began thinking what if that happens to me. That was it !! since then I've convinced myself that I have a number of serious life threatening (obviously) illnesses, as soon as it's proved to me that it isn't what I think I immediately go to the next one and again become convinced that I have all the symptoms.

My latest worry is that I have some kind of brain tumour. I get headaches and sometimes they last for days and no medication seems to work the doctor says it stress / tension related (but obviously I know better!!).