PDA

View Full Version : Skin cancer obsession

tmckenzie-orr
24-06-15, 09:23
I have a dark brown butterfly shaped freckle /mole on my shoulder its only tiny maybe it's not oval shaped or round and it doesn't have a smooth edge, I have been obsessing about it for about 1/2 months, looking at it everyday and it's most definitely my main focus ATM for my health anxiety, I went to the doctor and she looked at it with a light thing that put in the ear and the rest of my moles she said it is funny shape but it's ok, shes not concerned at all the pigmentation is fine , but I'm still obsessing and am petrified, I got my 2 week check at doctors tomorrow with another doctor so will show him see what he says I'm so scared that it cud be cancer , grrrr hate health anxiety if Google didn't say normal moles shud be round or oral and have straight edges I wouldn't be worried

Gary A
24-06-15, 09:54
Google only shows what you ask for. I'll bet you asked to see examples and descriptions of cancerous moles. With that being the case, Google will tell you that cancerous moles are irregular.

What Google won't tell you, is that absolutely harmless moles can be irregular also. You say your mole is "tiny", well what does Google say about that? You also mention the pigment is normal. Again, what does Google say about that?

Cancerous moles are almost always bigger than 6mm diameter, the width of a pencil eraser. They're also almost always differing colours of dark brown/red/black. They also tend to grow quite rapidly, bleed, itch and crust up. Your mole, by the sounds of it, is doing none of this.

Of course, even if your mole was doing all of these things, it STILL wouldn't necessarily be cancer, it could still be a perfectly benign mole.

Get it checked again to reassure yourself, but I really think you're obsessing over absolutely nothing here. Oh, and of course, stop googling cancerous moles, you are simply feeding your anxiety. Anxiety thrives on that type of fuel, stop feeding it.