PDA

View Full Version : Hello! New to this panic thing..

Frenchy
29-06-15, 21:33
Hi All

Just wanted to say hello. Have been lurking for a few weeks now, but I thought it was time to step out from the shadows!

I'm quite new to this panic/anxiety thing and I'll keep my story brief, as I think the details would probably end up being a trigger for some folks in the HA forum, but my panic attacks started a couple of months ago, due to a health problem and following a week in hospital.

I've never experienced anything like a panic attack before. The first time was....traumatic and it happened shortly after being discharged from hospital. When it hit, I really didn't know what was happening to me. I thought I was going crazy. I actually thought I was going to die and in the end I wound up in A&E - mere days after being discharged! It was after this episode - and speaking to my sister, who has suffered from anxiety in the past, that I realised what had happened to me. The last few weeks have been a new kind of struggle for me (but I realise that's really a drop in the ocean compared to the length of time others have had to struggle with this).

For the first couple of weeks I was having panic attacks every day and night, many of them lasting hours and hours at a time. The memories of my medical trauma and hospital stay were fresh in my mind and I really lacked the skills to manage or break myself out of them. Most days only sheer exhaustion ended them. I was already signed off work for 3 weeks due to my medical issue and I spent almost all that time home alone constantly fighting this rising panic. It was a dark couple of weeks, coupled with horrible thoughts of suicide, or getting myself committed to a mental ward - just so I could feel safer in a hospital setting.