PDA

View Full Version : I was diagnosed with Depersonalistion but dont recognise my symptoms

TonyBDavies
02-07-15, 10:48
A Psychiatrist diagnosed me with depersonality disorder as a result of decade long sex abuse but I don't know how I exhibit or experience it. Maybe I think the way I now experience life is normal and don't know any different.

My sex abuser worked for a government department, social services, and organised to have me admitted to a psychiatric ward at age 14. He told me the doctors said I had schizophrenia. Initially I saw this social services officer as a result of dropping performance at school, I was an A student but because my parents were having marriage difficulties, I was not focusing on my school work.

I confided in him that my parents were having marriage troubles at home and that I needed them to begin to communicate to us siblings, and that we needed to discuss our worries as a family. His action was to suggest to my parents I needed a break from home and I stay at his house. My parents have told me he didn't mediate the issues I had confided in him with them at all.

Anyway, he abused me on the first night I stayed there, and my life took a worse turn, from there I entered into a depression that I could't shake. I stopped confiding in everyone (after all my confidence was betrayed) and in time my withdrawn behavior was tentatively diagnosed as schizophrenia. I spent a decade in and out of the psyche ward as well as being sexually abused when I came home. My abuser visited and abused me while my parents were at work.

I lost trust in everyone. I was outcast from my social peers. I was outliered by my close and intermediate family. I had become a social loner. The only 'friend' I had was my abuser. This took place from my early to late teens early twenties.

So my question is, how do I experience depersonilasion in relation to my experiences?

MyNameIsTerry
02-07-15, 11:32
Hi Tony and welcome to NMP :welcome: