PDA

View Full Version : Just started Venlor

MelSilk
08-07-15, 14:16
Hi Guys,

Been on Citalopram for years now, went to my GP and he said there are better medications out there that I can be using so he prescribed Venlor 75mg a day. He said there was no reason to wean myself off citalopram and that I could take Venlor immediately. I took my first dose today and I am feeling really disconnected and sleepy. Then I read side effects etc and become more worried because most people only post above the negative things. How long will it take for me to get used to Venlor - is it the same as citalopram which was 4 - 6 weeks?

I am at work and really need to be able to focus - so thought I must maybe just get citalopram for back up?

tommackent88
08-07-15, 18:16
Hi Mel

I'm not an expert on these things but I started taking this about 6 weeks ago and I've not experienced any benefits yet. Although I am still hopeful!

Everyone is different. I've read elsewhere that after 6 weeks some people feel really good!

MelSilk
08-07-15, 18:31
Hi.

Thanks for the reply.

I have only taken one dose today and I feel like crap.

Panic in my whole body. Can't breath and feeling agitated. Just took an alzam to calm me.

I wanted to try something different because I felt citalopram had stopped helping. Not sure if I should persevere or go back.

Poppy Girl
10-07-15, 23:32
Don't give up just yet! I spent months and months trying different medications until my doctor gave me venlafaxine. Truth be told I didn't want to take it as I'd heard so many negative things but I've been on it a year today and my life is so much better.
It took about 4 weeks for me to start feeling better and a good 6-8 weeks before I felt the real benefit and I did feel pretty lousy the first couple of weeks.