PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new here

ADW
09-07-15, 09:46
Hi, this is the first time I've used a website like this. I've been suffering from anxiety for several years and sine beginning my career 7 months ago it has worsened. I had kept the constant anxiety and panic attacks secret until recently when everything got to much and I was unable to hide it anymore. I was in no fit state to work and have been signed off work for a week. The doctors have started me on citalopram and diazepam but I've been feeling quite sick but I'm persevering with it. Has anyone else had these side effects? I've completely lost my appetite and I normally love my food. Trying to find things to do with myself now but I am still feeling very anxious most of the time although the panic attacks have reduced. What should I do with myself? I'm due back at work on Monday and even the thought brings a wave of extreme anxiety through me. I should point out I like my job, I work as a nurse on a busy ward so it is very stressful.
Thanks for reading,
ADW

venusbluejeans
09-07-15, 09:54
Hiya ADW and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

sial72
09-07-15, 12:09
Hi ADW
And welcome.
I have had those side effects, not from that exact medication but from similar one. Aside from medication there are other things that can help so much with the anxiety. Do you do any sport at all? Have you read Claire Weekes books? Have you tried mindfulness? These are all very helpful. In my opinion medication can ease the symptoms for you but you need to think why you are so anxious and what you can do to help yourself...xxx

ADW
09-07-15, 18:02
Hi sial72,