PDA

View Full Version : Signed off work help!

ADW
09-07-15, 12:23
So recently my anxiety has become unmanageable and I couldn't go into work at the weekend. I was supposed to be working Friday, Saturday and Sunday night but I was a complete state with severe anxiety all weekend and panic attacks repeatedly so couldn't bring myself to go in.

I went back to my gp who prescribed citalopram and diazepam and signed me off for another week. But since I work three long shifts as a week, ive only been off work from last Friday 3rd to this Sunday 12th coming - so 9 days. (If that makes sense?!)

I've been experiencing side effects from the citalopram including nausea and insomnia and also don't have much appetite. It's now Thursday and the thought of returning to work brings waves of dread and anxiety through me so I try not to think about it. I do like my job but I work as a nurse on a busy ward so it it very stressful.

I just don't know what to do, I'm not sure I feel ready to go back or if my symptoms will improve over the weekend. I'm due to increase my citalopram dose from 10mg to 20mg on the Monday I return too!

ADW

Ohforf
09-07-15, 12:35
I am sure if you went back to the doctor you would get signed off for longer. The last thing you want to do is go back and make yourself worse because it's too early.

I have been signed off work for a total of 4 weeks. Got a week left to go.

Bluebll
09-07-15, 12:37
Hi there,

So sorry to hear you're suffering with such bad anxiety - it's such a horrible thing. I'm not one to give great advice at the moment (very bad at applying it to my own anxiety!) but just don't put too much pressure on yourself.

It's only Thursday, so perhaps decide on Saturday evening/Sunday whether you're going to go back in? It sounds like a very stressful job, but do you sometimes feel like it might actually help being there to keep your mind occupied? Sometimes I find routine and work is the only thing to keep my anxiety at bay!