PDA

View Full Version : Should I go back to work?

ADW
11-07-15, 20:46
I was signed off for this week as my anxiety finally got to much and I went back to my gp as I had been having panic attacks and constant high levels of anxiety all weekend and I couldn't go to work because i was in such a state. GP started me on citalopram and some diazepam but trying not to take the diazepam too much.

All week I've felt really horrible, still anxious all the time and geting waves of panic attacks and racing thoughts. I've also had no appetite and nausea, I think it might be due to the citalopram but I'm sticking with it. I've been getting only a few hours sleep a night and feeling generally awful with no energy. I'm due in work on Monday and I work as a nurse on a busy ward. I'm worried I'm not going to be able to cope with going back just yet in the state I'm in. I feel really guilty and weak for feeling like I can't go back. I would take diazepam before I go in but it makes me feel not very 'with it/unsteady' so I can't drive with it and I think it might affect my work. I just don't know what to do and I've spent the whole.day worrying about it.

Oosh
12-07-15, 11:58
Don't beat yourself up over it, it's hard. Lots of people can relate.

You've got a week on the medication under your belt now so I'm sure it won't be long before it starts to calm down your symptoms. Of course as it gets into your system it may feel a bit unpleasant but it will pass.

Do you have people at work who understand who can help you for the next week or so before the medication starts to help you ?

ADW
12-07-15, 12:03