PDA

View Full Version : suicidal thoughts- scared to go to GP in case Im admitted

gordie1
14-07-15, 00:11
Hi there the last few days I have been having suicidal thoughts with racing thoughts. I dont want to go and see my GP in case I am admitted straight into hospital> My thoughts are racing at 100 miles an hour and having suicidal thoughts. feeling pretty crap what will doctor do if I tell him I am having suicidal thoughts ?

vpfrends
14-07-15, 01:24
Hi gordie1 - I'm not a doctor nor an expert on anything medical, but I'm almost certain you cannot be admitted to hospital (or kept in hospital) without your permission, unless perhaps you are an immediate danger to yourself or others. You are always allowed to refuse treatment unless you are committed for your own safety, which in your case I don't think would be necessary as you seem to be fully in control of yourself and not psychotic, and a doctor would understand that.

I know exactly how these thoughts feel, and I think it's important you feel able to reach out for help without being afraid of being taken away. A GP would not do anything like that, they are there to support you. However they will advise you seek treatment depending on how distressed you are, and if you are overwhelmed by suicidal thoughts there are worse places you can be than at a hospital - they will not lock you in a scary room or anything, they will most likely try to calm you down and talk to you. Nobody can make you do anything you feel uncomfortable with unless you are psychotic or something similar.