PDA

View Full Version : Fear of death

Laura-1601
15-07-15, 16:50
Hi all,

This is my first time posting and I'm a bit nervous (ironic I know). I'm 22 years old and have been suffering from anxiety since the age of 18. My first panic attack was during a difficult period in my life when I lost my Grandpa who I was closer to than anyone else. He had been ill for as long as I could remember and "should have died 10 years before he did", so I suppose I developed a mentally that he was invincible, which I feel made his death even more difficult and incomprehensible. For the first few months after his death, my attacks were fairly consistent; felt very physical, but only subsided when I would return home to my mum's house (as I lived away in student halls). The attacks became so frequent when away from home and I was so terrified that they were something other than anxiety that I left uni and returned home. I started to go to CBT which I felt helped with coping techniques. My panic attacks were always "weird" sensations in my chest, which made it difficult to fall asleep, and when I eventually did sleep, I'd wake up in a sweat from jumping in the bed!
I should mention that I am very overweight and have only recently found the motivation to begin working towards a healthier lifestyle by joining a gym and working on a meal plan, but I'm even terrified of exercising in case my body can't cope and it feels very catch 22.