PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Teresa59
23-07-15, 10:45
Hi
This is my first time ever of joining a forum... I'm really nervous, which is not helping my anxiety, lol.
This is a big step, but I need some support, I have been a guest here for a little while and want to be part of this community
My name is Teresa and I live in London, I live in a shared house with my brother and his wife, and I have only been here a couple of years... I have my own room.
In April I had some health issues and an operation, nothing serious but quite traumatic, since end of May I have had recurring problems which are under doctors investigations, obviously I was and still am unable to work mainly due to discomfort and some pain.
I now have depression and anxiety due to all of this, it has been a nightmare, I've never felt this low and this confused before. My brother and wife do not want to help, in fact they are giving me no support at all. I do get that they don't understand what I'm going through, my brother doesn't like any sickness around him... But that makes me more alienated.
I don't have a partner to lean on, most of my hospital appointments I attend alone.
My GP has prescribed me medication about 7 weeks ago which was citalopram I took it two days and felt worse!! It scared me, so I didn't take it again.
So she prescribed Sertraline, but I'm scared to take that... Now she has prescribed escitalopram 5mgs... I haven't taken any, had them a week, but I know I've got to, cos I'm getting worse!
I'm alone basically, frightened and as my brother would say (and he has) I'm weak if I take medication....
I have a hospital appointment tomorrow with a gastroenterologist regarding my stomach pain, then I thought afterwards I would start the escitalopram ...

I want to gain support and advice from others here, who have been through this, I feel kind of lost and afraid..
This seems a wonderful community

venusbluejeans
23-07-15, 10:51
Hiya Teresa59 and welcome to NMP :welcome: