PDA

View Full Version : Propranolol (Inderal)

Jen84
15-10-03, 20:00
I was given this last week by my doctor. Only took 20mg Monday and Tuesday. I keep abit light-headed. My heart also keeps running!is this normal?im abit worried about it! Jen x

nomorepanic
15-10-03, 20:04
Jen

If you can wait until tomorrow then Radar (Meg) may know some more about this but she is away at the moment.

I have no knowledge of it - sorry, but I do know that a lot of anti-depressants make you feel light-headed when you first start taking them.

Nicola

Jen84
15-10-03, 20:12
Ok thanks x

nomorepanic
15-10-03, 21:51
Jen

Did you look at the info on my site about this cos a common side effect is dizziness. Go to:

www.nomorepanic.co.uk/propranolol.htm

Nicola

fiona
16-10-03, 20:02
Dear Jen

re: Propranolol this is a medicine called a beta blocker, it is not an anti-depressant it works by blocking out the feelings of a fast heart beat therefore reducing anxiety symptoms.

benoo5
16-10-03, 21:04
hya jen,
as fiona says, its a beta blocker,and is often given to help alleviate the symptoms of anxiety,such as palpitations,shakes,sweating etc , by reducing the heart/pulse rate.
as with all drugs,there maybe side affects,but ime sure your gp will be able to put your mind at rest...best wishes...bryan

Jen84
16-10-03, 21:34
Thank you i dunno what to think so ive stopped taking them! Cant be bothered Jen x

nomorepanic
16-10-03, 21:46
Jen

You will have to go through the same symptoms with all drugs - they take time to kick in.

You just have to trust in them and persevere.

Nic

Meg
17-10-03, 00:25
Hi Jen,

I think you've decided what to do anyway and you've had lots of good advice and information here already