PDA

View Full Version : Back to work

ADW
01-08-15, 15:48
So after a month of being signed off for anxiety my partner wanted me to try and go back so I took a phased return. (I'm a nurse on a busy ward) my first day back was yesterday and I worked a short shift (7 and a half hours) and to be honest I hated it. I didn't sleep a wink the night before and I've never felt so anxious I was wretching and gagging in the early morning before I started at 7, shaking and couldnt breathe (all the usual but much worse) in full blown tears all the way to work and when I got there I just worked like a zombie for the day and didn't feel like it was me. I found it really difficult to interact with patients and staff and that's a very important part of my job. My partner said I did really well but I know the work I did was not good, it took me too long to do things, I didn't get everything done and I was making mistakes and it was a relatively quiet day on the ward. Its just made my low self esteem and cinfidence issues worse just when i felt i was starting to make a bit of progress. Im in a state of panic this afternoon worrying about my shift tomorrow and I feel just as bad as when I first had to take time off work!

Crystalhiggs
01-08-15, 16:35
Hi there, oh I'm so sorry for you that sounds really tough. It does sound like you're going back too soon, I'm all for pushing myself out of my comfort zone a bit but that sounds like a nightmare. You're also in a responsible job where people are depending on you to care for them and it could be detrimental to your career if you made a big mistake.
obviously no one can tell you what to do but maybe if you get a better sleep tonight and try a bit of CBT - ie try to change those negative thoughts into more rational ones it might help? But easier said than done, I know!