PDA

View Full Version : New Member (Hello!)

Bluebird5
01-08-15, 18:51
Hello, I am new here. I am a 47 yo woman with a 12 yo daughter and very patient husband. I love listening to music, reviewing music on my website and going for walks. I work part time in health care.

I have had health anxiety for about two years now, but it has been building for the past ten, I'd say. I got very sick in 1994 with an illness that no one could figure out. I was finally treated for lyme disease, even though I was seronegative. After that, I've had many symptoms that doctors thought were autoimmune, but no bloodwork ever really explained it. A few years ago, I was diagnosed with Sjogrens Syndrome due to dry mouth, dry eyes and other major criterion, (again, seronegative). I did well treating the Sjogrens symptoms, but last year started having neuro symptoms and went through intensive workups that took several months. One of the workups was ALS and that absolutely terrified me, putting me right on the charts for health anxiety. (EMG/neuro said No ALS). I was diagnosed with small fiber neuropathy due to Sjogrens after that.

This winter I got better, but in the spring, I got fatigue and head/neck symptoms, which has now put me into a lymphoma scare. I am not done with this workup yet and even some of my doctors are concerned, so until I meet with the hematologist next week, the whole thing is freaking me out.

I really need help managing the anxiety of going through all of these medical workups. It is making my life miserable and creating an OCD loop of symptom checking, talking about it constantly and my thoughts are wrapped up in it to the point that I am depressed and dont enjoy regular life anymore. I finally joined here because no matter what is going on with my health -

I want to live a HAPPY LIFE. Thank you. (please help). :flowers:

venusbluejeans
01-08-15, 18:59
Hiya Bluebird5 and welcome to NMP :welcome: