PDA

View Full Version : Hello :)

anxiouscatlady
23-08-15, 21:15
Hi everybody,

It has been a long time since I joined or posted on a forum but I am so glad I stumbled across this one. For the past 2 to 3 years I have suffered from HA. I am a student approaching my final year and graduation. I'm 21 and should be enjoying my life but I'm constantly anxious about my health :weep:.

It all started with chest pain after a horrible Summer after suffering Glandular Fever. I would wake in the night with sharp pains in my chest and heart palpitations. As you probably all know, this would make me anxious and then the pains would get worse - vicious cycle. One night this happened and I was so concerned I called NHS24 and ended up having an embarrassing episode involving an ambulance and a perfect ECG. However, as the years have gone on I have regularly (daily/weekly) suffered from bouts of chest pain and heart palpitations. I have visited my GP on several occasions regarding this and I am forever told I'm just having anxiety attacks. I'm sure that is the case but I still have a niggling feeling they are being too admissive and one day I will genuinely have a heart attack that could have been prevented.

Another issue is that ever since my bout of Glandular Fever I regularly have raised lymph nodes and glands in my neck. I recently discovered a lump on my neck and convinced myself it was Lymphoma only to be told by my GP it was yet another swollen lymph node. Feeling very silly after that one.

I also suffer from IBS which I think encourages my anxiety but maybe I just like to find an excuse for it?