PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety or vertigo?

binks
07-09-15, 10:49
Hi I'm new to this..
Does anyone suffer from dizziness as part of their anxiety?

I used to suffer from severe agoraphobia and since 'recovering' from that I live in my comfort zone.. part time job, studying my degree from home, can't travel etc. and if I leave my comfort zone I would get hot flushes, feel like I was going to faint and the general terrified feeling.

This time last year I had pretty much got my life back to the way I wanted, I was attending work meetings, getting buses to about 40 minutes away from my house (it took 6 weeks of CBT for me to even get on a bus for one stop). But then in March, I was walking to town (only about 10 mins away and its my usual journey to work) and I felt like I was going to faint really bad. Whether this was anxiety related or not, it has messed with my anxiety. And especially over the past few weeks I feel really dizzy all of the time! I find myself stumbling at work and this makes me worry. I've actually started wondering if this is my anxiety or an actual health problem.. but I'm too nervous to go to the doctors which is about a 30 min walk because I'm worried about feeling dizzy in that time. I also found I'm sensitive to light.. for example, if walking to the supermarket in the day my eyes can't focus properly which makes me anxious.. but at night time I feel completely relaxed and able to do my shopping.

So I'm just not sure if my anxiety is causing these symptoms or these symptoms are causing my anxiety?
I bet my dr will just say it's anxiety.. but it's so frustrating it's come from no where when I worked so hard at getting my life back closer to the way it was!

Anyone have any similar experiences?

GingerFish
07-09-15, 11:22