PDA

View Full Version : Would a ct scan pick up a brain tumour

mattyjp
09-09-15, 05:56
So I still have my headache ongoing for two months, I had a ct scan which came back clear, my question is would a ct scan pick up a brain tumour.

Fallenangel76
09-09-15, 06:28
Hi I'm not a doctor but I think it would pick up any abnormalities in the brain and skull

countrygirl
09-09-15, 10:52
Yes it would pick up an abnormality although further testing would be needed to find out exactly what it was.
My neighbour very recently had what they thought was a mini stroke so she was sent for Ct which showed something in her brain. Further testing via mri and then biopsy told what it really was , inoperable cancerous brain tumour:weep:.
So CT would definitely have shown up an abnormality if you had a brain tumour.

GoWhiteSox
09-09-15, 14:49
hi matty-
can you describe your headache?

mattyjp
09-09-15, 17:05
It hurts behind my eyes and all over my head, hurts more when I bend down ect. It feels like pressure in my head and it's constant. I've had a ct scan, blood test chest x ray and all ok. The dr said it's tension headache which can last month's, I have a eye test this Saturday.

GoWhiteSox
09-09-15, 17:48
well heres something you can try..hopefully it helps a little..

ive noticed that if i apply pressure to the muscles over my ears (temporal muscles i think they are called) for about 20-30 seconds that gives me some relief..you have to hold it where you feel theres a trigger point and hold it long enough for the "trigger point feeling" to stop

hopefully that helps a little

mattyjp
09-09-15, 18:05
Thank you

GoWhiteSox
09-09-15, 18:13
no problem..i know it is hard to believe your doctor that tension is causing this..your headache sounds very very similar to mine and i am convinced it is indeed tension combined with mild sinusitis (which did show up on my ct scan)..