PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety affecting focus at work

jadedreams
16-09-15, 20:32
Hey everyone, I'm in a bit of a panic here. Have posted a few other threads under OCD and GAD & you guys have been great in replies with tips & coping skills.

Right now, I am still dealing with anxiety everyday (it ebbs and flows throughout the day). Mornings are usually hardest, evenings are a bit better. I am a computer analyst and really love my job & the people I work with. Problem I'm having is focusing when I am so anxious most of the day. I have to be able to think straight to do a lot of my work and it is so hard. The anxious & intrusive thoughts love to circle around my mind, causing me more fear and worry about not being able to concentrate on the task at hand. This has me worried for work, my performance is not my best - no one has said anything, but *I* am worried about it.

Any tips for help in concentrating at work? I would greatly appreciate it.

jadedreams
17-09-15, 15:26
Any thoughts guys? I would really appreciate it, I'm struggling with this issue a lot. Thanks..

meche
17-09-15, 15:53
Hi Jade - sorry you're having a tough time with work at the moment! I remember how that felt. When my anxiety was at it's highest my mind would race & my whole focus would be lost. Never good when you work with reconciling bank accounts!! Through all my anxiety issues though, I never once missed a day from work. I found a way of coping. I explained to a few colleagues that I was having a tough time and to be patient with me. Whenever I felt overwhelmed by it all I would take a few minutes out. I'd go for a walk or quite often I would shut myself in the toilet for 5-10 minutes and just breathe deeply to calm myself...... it really did work.