PDA

View Full Version : Health anxiety or "real". Please help!

sial72
23-09-15, 12:43
Hi there
I have sensitive polyneuropathy amongst other things that have had me practically bedridden and housebound for months. Also due to some medication I was taking my anxiety and panic was through the roof.
In the last month or so as my neuropathy began to improve and I was able to start walking again, my 24/7 anxiety had started to improve as well.
Then a couple of days ago I had a bad night's sleep and the following day my stomach was gurgling, skin was burning, shortness of breath, went all weak and felt as if I was dying. I decide not to rush off to the hospital and just spoke to a friend, she helped me calm down quite a bit. But ever since I had been on edge and my polyneuropathy symptoms are worse.
Do all those symptoms sound like anxiety and panic? Thanks for any kind words x

Traceypo
23-09-15, 13:33
Hi hun, firstly I have no knowledge of your medical condition, however know a lot about anxiety.
Firstly, a bad nights sleep upsets my anxiety levels greatly, I'm more irritable and irrational when I'm tired, it's like I don't have the energy to fight the negative thoughts.
Secondly, when my anxiety is high, I feel hot all over, generally more flushed in the face, however, I've had my stats done when I feel like this and my temperature was normal.
Thirdly, when my anxiety is high, it impacts on my tummy, I need the toilet more, don't eat properly and sometimes feel stabbing pains.
Please note, I'm not a medical professional, I can't tell you what your symptoms are, I am merely describing what symptoms I now understand are anxiety in me. Xxx

pulisa
23-09-15, 13:55
Sial, in view of your history I would get some medical advice on this. It could very well be "just" anxiety triggering off physical symptoms but I think you should make contact with the team which has been looking after you and describe your symptoms.